The newly appointed Federal Ministers of Foreign Affairs Ahmed Isse Awad, Interior Abdi Mohamed Sabriye and Trade Minister Abdi Hayir have been sworn-in on Sunday in Mogadishu.

In a brief occasion held in the capital with the presence of deputy PM Mahdi Mohamed Guled and speaker of the house of the people, Mohamed Sheikh Osman Jawari, they took the oath of office.

The incoming Ministers have been appointed last Thursday by Somali PM Hassan Ali Khaire following a surprise mini-cabinet reshuffle which came amid a looming opposition.

The new foreign Minister Awad was the Somali ambassador to Washington before his appointment. He replaces Yusuf Garad Omar who has been in office since March 2017.

The Interior Minister Sabriye is a wealthy telecom businessman while Mohamed Abdi Hayir Mareye is a former minister and currently a member of Somalia’s Lower House Chamber of the Federal Parliament.